MOSIRA: Still Waiting For Reply

On October 8, 2011, I sent the following e-mail to the Missouri Legislature representatives of Cape Girardeau County as well as to the Cape County Tea Party Members:

Greetings to CCTP and to our local MO Representatives!

Attached is a document (here) prepared by a MO Constitutional Lawyer named Ron Calzone in response the passage of the MOSIRA bill in Special Session.  Ron runs a web site mofirst.org.

I am far from an expert on constitutional issues and Missouri Law, but assuming he’s correct, I have a request for our local Senate and House Representatives that receive this e-mail and voted FOR this legislation.

I would ask that in direct reply to this e-mail, or in your weekly Capitol Reports, that you:

  • Discuss why you voted FOR this legislation
  • Refute the unconstitutionality claims made by Mr. Calzone
  • Refute the claim that the legislation allows public funding for embryonic stem cell research and human cloning

I suspect other Libertarians and Conservatives, like me, believe picking winners and losers with our tax dollars is nothing more than crony capitalism and a perversion of the Missouri Constitution.

Thank You!
Brian Bollmann

For the record, the House Members that represent Cape County voted as follows:

  • 157 Donna Lichtenegger – Yea
  • 158 Wayne Wallingford – Nay
  • 159 Billy Pat Wright – Yea
  • 160 Ellen Brandom – Yea

As best I can tell, the Missouri Senate used a voice vote on SB7 and Senator Crowell’s vote is not recorded in the public record.  Pursuant to the e-mail above, I asked him separately about his vote.

Senator Crowell,

It appears that SB7 (MOSIRA) was a voice vote in the Senate?  I assume that means there is no record anywhere?

How did you vote?

As a Missouri resident and voter, I’m disappointed that the people I hire to act on my behalf in the Missouri Legislature would ever be allowed to act (vote) without my ability to review how they acted (voted).  Each vote must be recorded to allow constituents to properly evaluate the performance of their representatives.

The point I am getting to is…

No one on this list of representatives has replied in any way to my request.

If one of the representatives has addressed my questions in their Capitol Report, I’d be glad to attach that reply to this posting.

To that end, I ask you to consider contacting your representative to explain why they voted for taking your tax dollars and giving them to corporations – picking winners and losers by enslaving you to labor for their efforts.

See the Rep Contact Info page on this site for contact information

About bbollmann
A Missouri Conservative who like to rock... ...especially to the great music of Rush!

Comments are closed.

