Prayer For Jackson Schools And New Leadership

A letter from a retired Jackson schoolteacher:

Choosing my words carefully, I feel compelled to pray for the Jackson School District and especially the board members who will be selecting new leadership for the district in the next few weeks. I am praying that this will not be treated lightly and there will not be an ‘inside selection’ where others need not apply. I am asking the board members to truly review each candidate and their connection to the district. I will always love the district.

I spent 25 of the happiest years of my life there. I was hired in the Fall of 1984. My selection was a fluke, it was late in the summer (I was hired 8 days before school started.) I had no family or inside pull. I was quite enamored of the whole district, students, etc. I never got over that feeling.

I served first under Dr. Frank Wiley who told me that he was hesitant to hire me because Government was the THE MOST HATED CLASS in the district! Mr.Nelson later told me that I was hired because I was mature at age 31 and cheap on the pay scale. Essentially I got the job because I was ‘old and cheap’. The second Superintendent I served under was Wayne Maupin. Mr. Maupin was a diligent protector of the district’s money, it’s teachers and students. I recall two times that he sought me out, once to apologize for not calling off school early enough when he heard that I had gone into a ditch on the way to school. The second time, he came to my classroom after the suicide of a student because he was concerned about how I was coping. I will never forget his compassion and desire to connect to the students and the teachers. Dr. Jones was the next leader of the Jackson district. He was not there very long, but he made a tremendous difference for me. On the opening day of school, in his speech he said: “I did a mock interview for a college student, and asked him who he would like to emulate as a teacher. The student’s reply was: “The greatest teacher of all times was Jesus Christ. I would like to be like Mr. Seabaugh, because Science is my chosen field, but I would really like to be like Mrs. Dooley, because she makes you just love learning.” I lived off of those words for the rest of my career. I had to. There were no more words of praise. Ever.

It seems, IN MY OPINION, that many teachers and leaders in the district who had a true heart for the district, a love for its students and a true concern for how things were being managed were quickly dismissed and urged to move on. Opinions were not welcome and anyone who had one was dismissed as “Negative”.  Anyone with experience, who had invested, blood, sweat and tears for the district were pushed aside for people who had less than three years experience in education.

It became very clear that you supported the administrative agenda or you were very quickly persona non grata. I never claimed to be the most intelligent or the best teacher of the district, but I did invest heavily in time, prayers and tears for my students. The Bible says: Study to show thyself approved, a workman who needs not to be ashamed. I know that I did do that. I was told that teachers were to be facilitators and to allow the students to learn on their own. I was a dinosaur that could not accept that. I made the decision to retire after prayerful consideration in 2009.

It was clear that I was attending a party that I was not invited to. I was docked in pay for giving the eulogy at a student’s funeral. I was docked in pay for being the only teacher who attended the funeral of Bob Davis who died in Afghanistan. No administrators attended. Why did we not line the street with flags when his funeral procession passed our school? I will never understand that one.

Jackon High School

I confessed to one student that I never understood why God put me at Jackson to begin with and he replied, “He put you there for me. On several occasions, I was planning to commit suicide, but would decide to attend your class one last time. On each of those days, you would say something that would convince me to go on another day.”

Even though I received several awards and was asked to give the graduation speech five times, I was never considered to be a good teacher by administrators. On the last day, one described the other retiring teachers with tremendous praise and then said, “Mrs. Dooley is retiring, too.” My heart was truly ripped out.

I know in my heart that I served a purpose, if only for comic relief. I know that those students who I visited when they were sick and even dying, those who were going through great turmoil, and those who just loved learning remember being in my class. I fear that teachers, like me are endangered. The test score is the only measure of true learning. On my last evaluation, I was told that the the students didn’t like me because I was a good teacher, they liked me because I was a ‘mom’ to them, and that they did not need me to be a ‘mom”. And that is how I ended twenty-five years of my life.

So, today, I am pleading with the Jackson School Board to consider what kind of person they will put in charge. It takes more than just a businessman, the current pick of a questionable leader. It takes a person who has a true servant’s heart, a love for students and a love for learning! We need a leader who inspires students and teachers to do their very best. The attitude, in my opinion, for too long has been, “if you don’t like the way things are, we have fifty more who will take your job.” and “Teachers are a dime a dozen”.

Good ones aren’t.

My greatest success at the school was on the day that I sat in a student’s desk at 4:30 in the afternoon praying for him, asking God to send someone into his life that he might really hear to solve a very serious problem in his life. As I was praying, he walked through my door! We talked, cried and prayed for two hours. I felt God’s presence in that classroom that day.

If for no other reason, I will always be proud to say that God gave me the opportunity to serve at Jackson High School for twenty-five years, where He nurtured and protected me. He gave mentors like Hal Goddard and Karen Kight (a modern day version of Peter and Paul). He allowed me to learn from the very best. Teachers, like me, were problematic.

That is why today, I am begging the members of the Jackson Board to look beyond who is just in line for the job and seek out the applications of those who have a true heart for students, not only their test score, but the people that they are destined to become. Maybe some of them, were, like me and others who have left the district, problematic.

About bbollmann
A Missouri Conservative who like to rock... ...especially to the great music of Rush!

40 Responses to Prayer For Jackson Schools And New Leadership

  1. Belinda Perkins says:

    You are the best teacher of all times Mrs Dooley. I will also pray for school board to make a decision of what is best for the students of the district. The students deserve it.

  2. Elizabeth t. says:

    God Bless you Mrs Dooley!! We all love you!

  3. Tonya Friga says:

    Looking back as a student
    Memories are becoming elusive
    Past students only remember the ones that have made a impact on their life .
    Perfect teens , troubled teens or even pregnant teens will continue to tell their children about the Good oh Days of Jackson High School . When asked “Are you from Cape?” You said “Ohhhh Nooooo Jackson Mo . Where doctors , lawyers etc …. Moved !
    Making sure their children were in the Jackson School District . I pray Jackson still has Mrs Dooleys , Mr Maupins , Mrs Kights , Mrs Clabaughs etc . That the Jackson voters elect the people that have the compassion that Mrs Dooley had in her classroom . God Bless You Mrs Dooley for standing up for what you believe in , for staying in there as long as you did.
    You truly are a memory that is stored in the unforgettable box in my brain .
    Jackson Class of 89
    TRF

  4. Laura says:

    God bless you Mrs. Dooley! You were a great teacher & deserved better than that.

  5. Audrey Jerrolds says:

    As a graduate of Jackson High School many moons ago, I can recall two moments that impacted me the most. One, when I decided to go to college, after a not no stellar high school career, the guidance counselor at the time explained that, “You will never get into SEMO, you didn’t plan and now it is too late. Besides, the world needs blue collar workers.” Luckily, though the pain was felt, it did not define me, and as a soon to be graduate of Johns Hopkins University, it is a goal to never perpetuate the attitude or ideals that this former employee/representative of Jackson High School placed on me. It is important to always encourage students like me who may not come in the most conventional packages. To not pass on these very limited views to growing minds should be the norm, not the exception. Thank you to the kind teacher who we all know and love with the courage to submit these important reflections. Which brings me to my second most important moment in high school that made me believe in myself again and decide to, “Run baby, run!!!”. (Quote from the commencement speech of 1993).

    • Kim Merchant Wright says:

      I was told a similar thing by my high school counselor so let me guess you had Mr. Banks 🙂

      • Audrey Jerrolds says:

        Hello Kim,

        No, it wasn’t Mr. Banks. Which shows that this must have been the culture of the time, and I had hoped that the culture had changed by now. I am so sorry to hear that you had the same experience because those words from the adults that are involved in our educational journey at a pivotal time in a child’s life can last a lifetime.

    • Mark Seabaugh says:

      I heard the same thing from Mrs. Judy Myer and now I have a Masters Degree

      • Audrey Jerrolds says:

        This is absolutely disheartening as my guidance counselor was neither Judy Myer nor Mr. Banks. It must have been some sort of a collaborative effort to discourage students collectively. Thank you both for sharing and congratulations on having the fortitude to overcome the guidance of your guidance counselors.

      • Patricia Hyde says:

        This trend seems to go back even further, I graduated in 1966. I was told by Mr. Aubuchon that all I would ever be was a menial worker, don’t even think about college. Started SEMO the summer I graduated, made straight A’s in computer science. I went on to become Associate Director of the VERI (Virtual Environments Research Institute) at the University of Houston before retiring. So don’t let someone define you or your ambitions. Never tell a student what they can’t do–give them a problem and encourage them to solve it. I remember fondly Mr. Sebaugh, science, Mr. Nelson, band and Mrs Harbison, my government teacher.

  6. I live in Delta school district, but I praise you for standing upon your beliefs in God. I do wish all schools would consider each and every one hired with special views of their belief and how they look at a job that holds the future of our children. I have a very hard time understanding a teacher that just wants the dollar and move the children through the grades just to get them out of their hair. Again thank you for your caring and thank the lord for teachers like you.

  7. Lee Ann Wright says:

    I do not recognize the authors name but I did graduate in 1981 and know all of the names mentioned. I just want to say that I agree 100%. I am a high school English and Speech Communications teacher with 14 years behind me. Every year I fee like a rookie. Between the plethora of acronyms, technology demands and pressure of test scores, I am worried that my expertise in content, ability to reach those hard to reach students, and excellent work ethic just do not matter anymore.
    Everything you mention and plea for in Jackson, is what we want in Knoxville, TN. I hope your message is heard.

  8. Michelle says:

    Growing up on a farm just outside of town, my family didn’t have the most money, they weren’t affiliated with any political parties or large churches. In other words, my family wasn’t part of any of any Good Ole Boys clubs. I learned very quickly that I, as an individual, and people like me did not matter. The many variations of prejudice I experienced while growing up in Jackson society is heart breaking. I knew that teachers, principles, and coaches didn’t care about me. I was just another body in a seat who didn’t need to succeed, just go away. I always loved your class, I remember I even changed my schedule one year when I’d gotten a different teacher. Your class was one of the few I actually did well in which says a lot about you as a teacher. I graduated as a C average student even tho I had the potential to be so much more. You were one of a handful of teachers that motivated me to be more involved in the class room. I left Jackson as soon as I graduated and only go back to visit family now and again. These days I look back and see that I am more successful than most of the Good Ole Boys members and have done more with my life than many of them will ever dream of doing. They tried to teach me that I was nothing, but I never let that hold me back and have proved them wrong. I feel sorry for them that they live with such closed eyes, unable to see what does matter in the world. I feel more sorry for the people that are held back because no one cares. And they were wrong…you weren’t a “mom” to your students. You were the definition of what a teacher should be.

  9. Jeremy Verhines says:

    Jackson is a great town with great community and spirit. But Jackson like other towns, grow, expand and attract newcomers. That is great, I love a thriving town. Nonetheless, the writer is right. If Jackson does not keep to their core values then yes, God will allow them to to go through the valley. Jackson is not immune to the fall. Yes it is a great town but when diligence and reverence for what got them to that legacy is taken for granted, presumption sets in and the lines in the sand are blurred. I graduated Jackson in 1991, had the best teachers who cared and felt safe in that school.

    Come on leadership, step up!

  10. Cindy S. Seyer says:

    How sad in this day and age we forget the most important lesson …the children of today are the leaders of our future. We need to make sure we are “investing” the right teachers in our children’s lives to ensure everyone’s future. Thank you to Mrs Dooley!

  11. Barbara Lueder says:

    Now THERE is a real teacher!

  12. Amber Chambliss says:

    I believe I was blessed to have you as a teacher Mrs.Dooley. I think of you,often and I think what you had to say here is absolutely perfect. You were and you still are an amazing teacher! Prayers going up!

  13. Missy Janzow says:

    What truly wise and insightful words these are. I loved Mrs. Dooley as a teacher and mentor, and whole heartedly agree with the fact that good teachers are just helping to build a student’s knowledge base, but absolutely the truly good ones are our mentors on life and life lessons- especially for many of us as teens that didn’t receive that guidance at home. What a great expectation to put on our teachers, but thank God for ones like Mrs. Dooley who not only believed in her purpose, but made it her teaching mantra. God bless you Mrs. Dooley.

  14. Jessica says:

    Unfortunately, none of this surprises me. Although Mrs. Dooley was not my favorite teacher, it was easy to she was dearly loved even by those who had the most disdain for Jackson High School and its administration. I too, was told by my high school counselor that I was not prepared for SEMO, and that college was not an option for me. There is a difference between being a slacker and being intellectually inferior; even the worst educators know that.

  15. Pam says:

    I am not from Jackson School but my children graduated from there. Mrs Dooley you were one teacher that my son would always talk about. He was not much about school but you were one of his best teachers that he respected. They certainly need more teachers like you with compassion for the students – Making the effort to know your students and because of that working with them to help them excel in their life. I feel that many teachers in Jackson can do that if the administration is behind them
    Thank you Mrs. Dooey for speaking up for the District. Parents are with you on this.

  16. Lauren says:

    Mrs. Dooley, I can say that I absolutely loved having you as a teacher and that you truly made every day enjoyable. Having a mother who also taught at Jackson, I can say that she shares the same sentiments as you and experienced the exact same situation herself. The best teachers I had in high school were the ones of true quality, with incredible passion and care for their students and many years of experience, and you were among those.

  17. Anna Voelker says:

    Your Jackson schools will not be judged successful by our Missouri Department of Education unless they accept the new teaching methods, curriculum and testing tools currently recommended by the state. Superintendents are being instructed on the method of teacher selection and evaluation. Teachers must not teach. They must only facilitate. The only good teachers are the ones who understand and accept these new takeover requirements. It will not matter how well the teacher is able to assist the student to learn, or how well a teacher understands and communicates with her students, or how smart or well educated she is in her subject. Nothing will matter except how well the teacher follows instructions and marches to the beat of their drum. It will be necessary to get rid of any teacher who dares to disagree. Those teachers who have taught for years are the most likely to be considered the fly in the ointment. The saddest part of all this is that the superintendents and principals make excuses for what is obviously not good education policy. They have to make these excuses. If not, they will lose their status, and mostly likely their jobs as well. The Missouri Department of Education is dictating to them and following their willingness to obey. God bless you Mrs. Dooley for all of your dedicated years. Your reward is in heaven.

  18. timnicolai says:

    Just wanted to put my two cents in as well – Mrs. Dooley, you are one of the BEST teachers I ever had at JHS.

    I absolutely agree with everything that is said here – please hire someone who cares about people, and respects just how difficult it is to be a great teacher. Someone who cares about who the district employs, and doesn’t regard them as a series of dollar signs.

    Thanks Mrs. Dooley for speaking up, and for everything you’ve done for all of us.

  19. Lori says:

    As a parent whose children both went to Jackson, I too agree we need to pray about a new administration. We need someone who is compassionate about the district. One that does not just make the appearance but walks the walk. Knows the staff, the children, and has a clear vision for the district. Someone that cares. Mrs. Dooley you said it well. My kids loved you by the way!

  20. Kim Merchant Wright says:

    I think every student that had Mrs. Dooley for a teacher that has graduated from JHS will ever forget her. There are only a handful of teachers that I really remember. I have reconnected with Mrs. Donley but there are others I would like to get back in touch with as they have impacted my life in so many different ways. Mrs. Krammer (6th grade teacher); Mrs. Crain (7th grade Math); and Mr. Pete (9th grade literature). If it weren’t for these teachers I don’t think I would view the world the way I do. Mrs. Dooley God put you at JHS in Jackson Missouri for it children. He knew you are the leader the children needed and needs. With that being said….

    I NOMINATE MRS. DOOLEY AS JACKSON SCHOOL DISTRICTS NEW LEADER!

  21. Heather Blackwell Lansing says:

    Mrs. Dooley~

    I had you for Government, graduated in 1996, and I thought I was truly blessed for having you because I had heard what a fantastic teacher you were! You made learning so fun that it was easy to understand Government! Your warm heart and “mom” ways was what made everyone calm in your classroom and eager to learn.

    I’m proud of you for speaking up and making God a priority in your life. Look at what He did for you…He knew that you would touch the hearts of so many students, not just by means of an education, but because you gave a shit about us! I’m a teacher now and thanks to you and other teachers at JHS I’ve also put that same “mom” love in my room and radiate it off unto my students. Believe me when I say they love that secure, trusting feeling when they come to class. Thank you for that.

    You can’t please everyone and when you have someone trying to knock you down because they see how bright your light shines that’s when you radiated your light stronger. I thank those who treat me like I can’t accomplish anything because it makes me stronger and pushes me to prove them wrong. I’m sorry for the tribulations that you were faced with from higher up when you were a teacher, but please know the ones who really cared about you and who mattered the most are the lucky ones who had the opportunity to have you as a teacher…I am one of those lucky ones!

    Thank you for trying to keep JHS up on its standards. I always praise that school for being one of the best and not only academically, but I was a well rounded student with high morals thanks to teachers like you who took that extra mile to implement various qualities into our life. You’re amazing, I know it, every student who had you knows it, and most importantly your Maker, God, knows it because He blessed you with the passion to not only teach, but to change lives!

    I love you, even if you don’t remember me, and I pray too that God enlightens the school board to fill JHS with more teachers like you! God bless you my friend, you are very much loved.

  22. Calysta says:

    I was moved & concerned by this letter. I’m never surprised when government & corporate America value money more than quality. Unfortunately, we encourage this by demanding lower taxes, lower prices, & increased stock prices. After all, we are capitalists. However, in order to compete in the global economy, & create more jobs for Americans, we need quality education for our citizens. In short….we will get what we pay for. The issues that face our nation are complex & require complex solutions. Cheaper is usually not better.

  23. Jessica says:

    Looking back, going to JHS, was in not so many words, unmemorable. I made my way through with a B average, teachers liked me, I had plenty of friends..but was pretty much an outsider most of the time. I wasn’t with the popular kids because I didn’t look the part, I wasn’t in the band because I couldn’t play an instrument, I wasn’t a jock, because well I am not athletic, and so I was just….there. I remember making out my senior schedule in the summer and talking to my friends, they all said we have to take Mrs. Dooley’s class because it was supposed to be easy…which was perfect in my eyes since it would be my last year. And let me tell you, I am so thankful I did that.

    I had some of my best memories in my entire school career in that classroom. It was Mrs. Dooley that after so many years, finally made me confident enough to speak in front of more than 4 people, it was Mrs. Dooley’s class that we all hovered around a tiny little tv as we watched the events of 9/11 enfold. It was that moment that when people ask where you were when it happened, and I say, “Mrs. Dooley’s class, 2nd hour in high school.” We were only teenagers that had no idea what was happening, and she took the time to explain to us frightened kids what was going on.

    I too like a lot of people on here, was told by my counselor that college probably wasn’t going to be for me. Which I never understood because I thought I was doing fine. I guess since I didn’t stick out in the graduating class, they had no clue who I was. Well, I didn’t go to college. Instead I got a job as a secretary at a small office, then finally got sick of the small town of Jackson, and had to move. I left for St. Louis and haven’t looked back since. I am now an office manager at an insurance office and can be that leader that I need to be, which I feel is a little part of Mrs. Dooley.

    If the school administration treated our “mom” the way they did…I’m ashamed. When we had problems, who did we go to?! We never went to our school counselors…we went to Mrs. Dooley. She is who I hope my kids have in a teacher some day.

    Mrs. Dooley, if you ever see this…THANK YOU. You probably don’t remember me because I wasn’t someone who “stood out”…but you sure stood out to me.

    Class of ’02

  24. Barbara England says:

    Very bravely said! May Jackson Public School become the school we moved to Jackson, MO for 42 years ago. We wanted our children to live in the best community and attend the best school in the state. Now we have great-grandchildren in your system and want Jackson schools to be the best for them. I think it is extremely important that we pray for the school board and leadership within the school system. Thank you for opening this door of communication Mrs. Dooley. You are a hero!

  25. Joy says:

    I stumbled across this letter while browsing another site on the internet. I am a high school teacher of students with special needs….the best kids in the whole, darned school, actually! Unfortunately, this mentality of only tests scores matter is prevalent across the country. I am in North Carolina and feel it each and every day. It’s almost as if the powers that be have a desire to replace teachers with robots with no feelings and emotions. I teach with my heart first, followed by my intelligence and training. In “their” eyes, that’s why I fail. Although my evaluations are always stellar, I know I will never “advance” in the education arena because I refuse to be part of the “good ole’ boy” network that is alive everywhere! You know what….I am okay with that. I refuse to sacrifice my values and the love and respect I have for my “kids” to please the powers that be. I will continue to pray for our leaders. Thank you, Ms. Dooley. Much respect and admiration to you.

  26. Dc says:

    I just copied and pasted this article including comments to an email to the Missouri Department of Education by googling the department name then clicking the email icon. Maybe nothing will happen but if the above comment is true and actually care for a child no longer then let the Department answer for it. I encourage every viewer to do the same and flood the Dept of Ed. With email. Mrs. Dooley deserves no less.

  27. Ms Sue says:

    Mrs Dooley Praise God you have the faith to write from your heart about a school where you taught for 25 years then was cast aside like yesterdays news. But I agree. We need to pray for Jackson High School. From administration down to student body. Teachers with faith, true concern to teach and reach out to students are rare breed now. We need more teachers with compassion and the willingness to teach all the students. From the ones snubbed in the halls to the ones that most popular in school. If each student showed the compassion, faith and love to others they also can make a difference. I am married to an alumna of Jackson. A mother to three graduates and grandmother of to many to list. We have a new generation entering the halls in a few years. Some need help others do not need as much and I pray one teacher will be a Mrs Dooley and reach out to them to help them learn. God Bless you Mrs Dooley you changed lives and some you never and even knew about.

  28. Audrey Jerrolds says:

    Mrs. Dooley,

    Do you still have your ‘Run, Baby, Run…’ commencement speech? It was so memorable and maybe it applies here as well. Thank you for all of your years of service and by being brave enough to continue to share.

  29. Debbie Deneke says:

    I know of several good teachers who have left Jackson schools for jobs at other districts or retired early for just the reasons Mrs. Dooley named. Thank you for writing and expressing the thoughts and concerns of many.

  30. Ryan Kasten, A. B. D., M.M., M.M. says:

    Dear Ms. Dooley, You were one of the greatest teachers I had at JHS. I remember my brother Quent Kasten talking about your classes, and I couldn’t wait to have you as teacher four years later. Please know you touched the lives of a lot of students with grace, love, care, and compassion. If were not for great teachers like you, students like me would have never dreamed of becoming educators or going on to higher levels of education. You always encouraged us to follow our dreams. Please know how great you are and were as a teacher! Wishing you all the best.

    Sincerely,

    Ryan A. Kasten, A.B.D,. M.M., M.M.

  31. BC says:

    To all educators and administrators:

    Won’t you come see about me?
    I’ll be alone, dancing, you know it baby
    Tell me your troubles and doubts
    Giving me everything inside and out

    And love’s strange so real in the dark
    Think of the tender things that we were working on
    Slow change may pull us apart
    When the light gets into your heart, baby

    Don’t you forget about me
    Don’t, don’t, don’t, don’t
    Don’t you forget about me

    Will you stand above me?
    Look my way, never love me
    Rain keeps falling, rain keeps falling
    Down, down, down

    Will you recognize me?
    Call my name or walk on by
    Rain keeps falling, rain keeps falling
    Down, down, down, down

    Hey, hey, hey, hey
    Ooh, oh

    Don’t you try to pretend
    It’s my feeling, we’ll win in the end
    I won’t harm you or touch your defenses
    Vanity and security

    Don’t you forget about me
    I’ll be alone, dancing, you know it baby
    Going to take you apart
    I’ll put us back together at heart, baby

    Don’t you forget about me
    Don’t, don’t, don’t, don’t
    Don’t you forget about me

    As you walk on by
    Will you call my name?
    As you walk on by
    Will you call my name?
    When you walk away

    Or will you walk away?
    Will you walk on by?
    Come on, call my name
    Will you call my name?

    I say, la la la
    When you walk on by
    And you call my name

    Songwriters
    SCHIFF, STEVE W. / FORSEY, KEITH

    Published by
    Lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group

    Read more: Simple Minds – Don’t You (forget About Me) Lyrics | MetroLyrics

  32. Nancy Wilkinson says:

    Sounds like Mrs. Dooley needs now to run for Jackson School board to me. 1971 Alumni

  33. Cameron Hepler says:

    I was in the Jackson school district from 7th grade to my junior year. I never really felt accepted. I loved choir and I was talented but my talent was either never noticed or was passed over. There were several occasions when lesser talents and people with less dedication were picked over me because they were in thefavored crowd/families. Not that I didnt bring a lot of pain upon myself but I felt greatly Ignored. I moved away and made all state choir my senior year, I couldnt help but feel a little smug, I got a nice scholarship to ASU, and after 2 years I decided music wasnt practical and I changed to agbusiness. I never felt like I could succeed at Jackson based solely on the fact that the student body was so large, let alone being nothing but a blip on a radar screen to most teachers and administrators. I wont name specific teachers that made me feel this way, but if I say I was in the class of 2010 you all will know who I mean anyway. Jackson wasn’t completely terrible though, some of the best teachers I ever had were in the Jackson school district. I can say that a good four or five teachers stick out In my mind. Mr. Markin made me love history, Mr. Zahner made me love to sing, Coach Wachter (sp) the wrestling coach always told the greatest stories in history class, Mrs Holloway was always sweet to me. But the two that always stick out in my mind when i think about this are Mr. Goodwin and Mr. Helle, by far the best teachers I ever had. Mr G just made class cool and he told you how to conserve and use everything on an animal if you killed it. Mr Helle was just the coolest teacher ever, he wrote songs and danced the hemoglobin dance to Enrique Iglesias. I never had mrs Dooley but I always heard great things about her, seems she has a good head on her shoulders. I agree and wish Jackson the best moving forward.

  34. Donny says:

    This is so sad

Leave a Reply

